The news is by your side.

RUGBY WORLD CUP | Live scoring: Georgia v Portugal


In the first Rugby World Cup game on Saturday, Georgia will take on Portugal. Keep track of the live scoring here.

“We have a lot of things to analyse,” Georgia coach Levan Maisashvili said after their 35-15 defeat to Australia on the first weekend of Rugby World Cup 2023.

He wasn’t wrong. Georgia played noticeably better than the scoreline suggests, but wasted a number of chances at Stade de France two weeks ago. 

Maisashvili has made four changes in the pack, with Mikheil Nariashvili and Beka Gigashvili coming into the front-row, Vladimer Chachanidze into the second-row, and Beka Saginadze into the back-row. Giorgi Kveseladze will earn his 50th cap, as will Nodar Cheishvili, if used off the bench.

ALSO READ: Springboks accused of being ‘morally’ corrupt with 7-1 bench

Saturday’s opponents Portugal made Wales work for their bonus-point win in Nice at the weekend. While they have every reason to be proud of their efforts then, they’ll want to build on that with an even stronger performance here. 

Diogo Hasse Ferreira replaces Anthony Alves in the front-row while José Madeira comes into the second-row in place of Martim Belo. In the back-line, Pedro Bettencourt replaces José Lima at outside-centre and Raffaele Storti replaces Vincent Pinto on the right wing.

ALSO READ: RANKINGS: World Rugby confirm changes, Springboks well placed

FIXTURE: Georgia v Portugal

GROUND: Stadium de Toulouse (33,103)

KICK-OFF: 14:00 local time (GMT+2)



Paul Williams (New Zealand). The Hāwera-born Williams is one of two central referees from New Zealand at Rugby World Cup 2023. The other is Ben O’Keeffe, who took charge of last week’s match between France and Uruguay. Assistant referee James Doleman and TMO Brendon Pickerill make up the officials’ contingent from the Land of the Long White Cloud.

ALSO READ: Springboks to wear ‘second alternate’ kit against Ireland… here’s why


GEORGIA Davit Niniashvili; Akaki Tabutsadze, Giorgi Kveseladze, Merab Sharikadze (captain), Alexander Todua; Tedo Abzhandadze, Gela Aprasidze; Mikheil Nariashvili, Shalva Mamukashvili, Beka Gigashvili; Vladimer Chachanidze, Konstantine Mikautadze; Tornike Jalagonia, Beka Saginadze, Beka Gorgadze

Replacements: Tengizi Zamtaradze, Guram Gogichashvili, Guram Papidze, Nodar Cheishvili, Giorgi Tsutskiridze, Vasil Lobzhanidze, Luka Matkava, Demur Tapladze

PORTUGAL Nuno Sousa Guedes; Raffaele Storti, Pedro Bettencourt, Tomás Appleton (captain), Rodrigo Marta; Jerónimo Portela, Samuel Marques; Francisco Fernandes, Mike Tadjer, Diogo Hasse Ferreira; José Madeira, Steevy Cerqueira; João Granate, Nicolas Martins, Rafael Simões 

Replacements: David Costa, Lionel Campergue, Anthony Alves, Martim Belo, David Wallis, Thibault de Freitas, Pedro Lucas, Manuel Cardoso Pinto

VIDEO: Faf de Klerk leaves fan in tears during special moment